The Micro Award

The Micro Award was founded in 2008 by author Robert Laughlin to recognize outstanding flash fiction from both print and electronic media.  The first annual Micro Award was presented to Bruce Holland Rogers for his story “Reconstruction Work,” originally published in the inaugural issue of Flash Fiction Online (December 2007).  Robert Laughlin served as the Micro Award’s administrator and primary financial supporter until 2010, when he transferred functional and creative control to Alan Presley.  Alan Presley is the current administrator and presented the 2011 and 2012 Micro Awards.

The Micro Award is presented annually for the best work of flash fiction originally published in the previous calendar year.  Submissions for the 5th Annual Micro Award will be accepted from Oct. 1 to Dec. 31, 2011.  Please see the official rules for all requirements and guidelines. Congratulations to Kevin A. Couture for winning the 4th Annual Mirco Award and the $500 prize!  His outstanding story, “Choosing a Photograph for Mother’s Obituary,” was the winning entry.  This poignant narrative told exclusively through snapshots, paints a remarkably vivid picture in under 400 words.  Well done, Mr. Couture!